Who plays Roblox now: the ages Roblox reports

Most Roblox players are minors: 73% of users who checked their age by June 2026. Adults were 27%. Every quarter since late 2023, from Roblox's filings.

PaysFair TeamUpdated 11 min read

On this page 11 sections

Mostly minors. Of Roblox users who had checked their age by the end of June 2026, 35% were under 13, 38% were 13 to 17 and 27% were 18 or older. Only 57% of daily users had checked. In April 2026, Roblox named US adults aged 18 to 34 its fastest-growing group.

Those figures come from Roblox's own letters to shareholders, filed with the SEC. This page lines up every quarter since late 2023, with the source of each number. It also says what the numbers can't tell you.

How old are most Roblox players?

Most are under 18. Roblox began asking players to check their age in late 2025, and it now reports the ages of those who did. It has done so in three letters so far.

This split covers only players who checked their age. By June 2026 that was 57% of daily users, so 43% aren't in it. Roblox itself says the mix may not match everyone on Roblox.

Week endingDaily users who had checkedUnder 1313 to 1718 and overFrom Roblox's letter of
31 January 202645%35%38%27%5 February 2026
31 March 202651%36%38%26%30 April 2026
30 June 202657%35%38%27%30 July 2026

That's about three in four checked players under 18: 73% in January and June, 74% in March. The biggest single group is 13 to 17, not young kids.

Check rates vary by country. In the US and Australia, more than 70% of daily users had checked by June. Take-up is lower where local rules need a parent's consent for the face check, Roblox says.

Roblox also calls these numbers estimates, built on limited information and on methods that are still changing. It says the mix may shift as more players check.

What percentage of Roblox players are over 18?

27% of those who checked, as of June 2026. In the US it was about one in three, going by Roblox's letter of 30 July 2026.

The share across all players is probably a little higher. Under-18s check more often than users overall: 60% of them had checked by June, against 57% of everyone. That leaves only about half of adults checked. On our math from Roblox's rounded numbers, adults would be about 30% of all daily users, somewhere from 29% to 32%.

That math leans on Roblox's own count of its under-18s. The letter doesn't say how Roblox counts the ones who never checked, so treat 30% as a rough guide.

How many adults play Roblox?

Roughly 19 million a day, counting only adults who checked. Roblox averaged 123 million daily users in the second quarter of 2026. 57% of that is about 70 million checked players, and 27% of those is roughly 19 million adults. Adults who never checked come on top of that.

Do more adults play Roblox than kids?

No. Among players who checked, under-18s outnumber adults almost three to one. But in the US, adults are growing much faster than players in the US and Canada overall.

Roblox letterUS daily users 18 and overUS 18 to 34All daily users, US and Canada
30 April 2026 (first quarter)+40%Over +50%+17%
30 July 2026 (second quarter)+32%+42%+6%

Growth is against the same quarter a year earlier. The adult figures are Roblox's estimates: it applies the checked players' age mix to those who never checked.

Adults also spend more. In the US, players 18 and over "monetize over 50% higher" than under-18s, both 2026 letters say.

Roblox wants more of them. Its letter of 30 July 2026 puts the world's gaming market at about $200 billion a year, with players 18 and over making up roughly 80% of the spending. It calls a bigger older audience central to its goal of a 10% share of that market.

It's paying for it, too. Since 8 June 2026, creators get a 42% higher cash-out rate on eligible spending by checked US players 18 or older: $0.0054 per earned Robux, against the standard $0.0038. Our guide to earning Robux by making things explains how cashing out works.

Roblox also sees room to grow. In February 2026, it said it reaches fewer than 10% of US adults aged 18 to 34 on a given day.

Is the Roblox population growing?

It grew fast until the third quarter of 2025, then shrank. Daily users peaked at 151.5 million that quarter. By the second quarter of 2026 they were down to 123 million.

Before the age checks, Roblox's charts split players only at 13, mostly using the birthday each player typed in. Every quarter since late 2023:

QuarterDaily usersUnder 1313 and over13 and over, shareWhere it's from
Q4 202371.5M29.3M41.4M58%Release, 7 Feb 2024
Q1 202477.7M32.1M44.9M58%Letter, 9 May 2024
Q2 202479.5M32.4M46.4M58%Letter, 1 Aug 2024
Q3 202488.9M34.5M53.6M60%Release, 31 Oct 2024
Q4 202485.3M32.5M52.1M61%Release, 6 Feb 2025
Q1 202597.8M36.1M61.0M62%Letter, 1 May 2025
Q2 2025111.8M39.7M71.4M64%Letter, 31 Jul 2025
Q3 2025151.5M49.8M101.3M67%Letter, 30 Oct 2025
Q4 2025144MNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedLetter, 5 Feb 2026
Q1 2026132MChecked onlyChecked onlyChecked onlyLetter, 30 Apr 2026
Q2 2026123MChecked onlyChecked onlyChecked onlyLetter, 30 Jul 2026

Daily users come from each quarter's SEC release or letter. The age columns come from page 7 of Roblox's investor deck of 30 October 2025. Its deck of 31 July 2025 shows the same numbers for the quarters both cover. The share is our math, and it matches the 62% and 64% Roblox printed for the first half of 2025.

The 13-and-over group grew faster than the under-13s in every one of those eight quarters. In the third quarter of 2025 it grew 89% in a year, against 44%. Hours played by the older group rose 107%, against 67%.

Roblox's annual reports show the same shift in round numbers: 42% of daily users were under 13 in 2023, and about 40% in 2024.

Three cautions come with the table. From the third quarter of 2025, Roblox used age checks and other data where it had them, and typed-in birthdays only as a fallback. It then skipped age data for the fourth quarter of 2025 while it switched to age checks. And it says the new checked numbers can't be directly compared with the old ones. The checks also showed a younger player base than the typed-in birthdays had.

Roblox gave three reasons for the slowdown in early 2026. Growth was up against the huge gains of 2025, and Russia banned Roblox in December 2025. The age checks also cut off chat for players who hadn't checked, and slowed new sign-ups. Roblox was allowed back in Russia in June 2026.

What is the average age of Roblox players?

Roblox's filings don't give one. We searched 35 Roblox filings and investor decks from late 2023 to mid-2026, and none gives an average or median age. Roblox reports groups instead.

The groups still show where the middle sits. With 35% of checked players under 13 and 38% aged 13 to 17, the middle checked player is a teenager between 13 and 17.

Some statistics pages print a split into five bands, from under 9 to 25 and over. We couldn't find those bands in any of the 35 Roblox documents, and the pages that print them don't name a Roblox document.

Who plays Roblox more, girls or boys?

Roblox's filings don't say. They report age, not sex.

Roblox does collect the data. Its annual reports say its user figures rely partly on details players give, "such as age or gender." And its dashboard for creators shows a game's owner the age, gender, country and language of their own players. But none of the filings we read gives a split for Roblox as a whole.

Pages that print one disagree with each other. One says 53% male and 39% female, another 51% and 44%, and neither names a Roblox document. So if you've heard that older men are driving the growth, Roblox's own numbers can't confirm it. They show adults growing, not whether they're men or women.

How does the Roblox age check work?

A player records a selfie video in the app, and software estimates their age. Players 13 and over can show a government photo ID instead. Roblox's vendor, Persona, runs the face check, and Roblox says the images and video are deleted after processing.

The check puts each player in one of six groups: 5 to 8, 9 to 12, 13 to 15, 16 to 17, 18 to 20, and 21 and over. By default, players chat with their own group and the ones next to it. Age-based chat is built to keep adults and children under 16 apart. Checked players 13 and over can still chat across groups with people they know, added as Trusted Connections.

Checking is optional, but players who skip it can't chat at all. Roblox made the check a condition for chat in Australia, New Zealand and the Netherlands in early December 2025, and worldwide in early January 2026. By 4 August 2026, its face check had handled 338 million age-check records.

What is Roblox Select?

It's one of three account types Roblox rolled out worldwide in June 2026. Each follows a player's age:

  • Roblox Kids for ages 5 to 8, with chat off unless a parent turns it on.
  • Roblox Select for ages 9 to 15, with games rated for their age.
  • A standard Roblox account from 16, with every game except those rated 18+, which only adults can play.

Players who haven't checked can't chat, and Roblox uses the birthday they typed in to place them in a Kids or Select account. Roblox's help page shows what each age group can do.

Is the Roblox age check accurate?

It's tested, but not perfect. Persona's age estimates were off by 1.4 years on average for players under 18, in testing by the UK's Age Check Certification Scheme.

Roblox admits the gaps. Its 2025 annual report says players have at times got around its systems, and its checks have put some users in the wrong age group. A parent can check by mistake on a child's account, and an account can be handed to a younger sibling.

That's why Roblox keeps watching behavior, such as who a player connects with and when they play. When that doesn't fit the age on file, it asks for a new check. Its system reads close to two billion account records a day.

One more limit matters for the numbers on this page. Roblox's letters warn that the split may not represent everyone on the platform. Its own engineers go further: users who complete stronger age checks "differ systematically from the broader population," they write. And Roblox's user figures haven't been checked by an outside party either, its annual report says.

Are there free Robux apps for kids?

There's no free Robux app: Roblox's help centre calls every offer of free Robux a scam. Some reward apps do list Roblox gift cards you earn with your time. Swagbucks priced a $10 card at 1,000 of its points on 22 September 2026, and Freecash offers them for testing games. With most Roblox players under 18, the first question is whether an app will take you at all.

We build PaysFair, an earning app that competes with the apps below, so check their numbers yourself. PaysFair is for people 16 and over.

AppMinimum ageWhere the rule comes from
Swagbucks13, and it encourages under-18s to get a parent's permissionSwagbucks Help Center, read 26 September 2026
Freecash16Freecash help article, 12 May 2025
PrizeRebel18, or 16 with a parent's or guardian's permissionIts terms, Internet Archive copy of 16 June 2026
Google Opinion RewardsOver 18Google's help page, read 26 September 2026

Set that against Roblox's numbers. The 35% of checked players who are under 13 are too young for all four. The 38% aged 13 to 17 can use Swagbucks, and from 16 also Freecash, and PrizeRebel with a parent's permission. Our guide to earning a Roblox gift card with surveys shows what each app charges for a card.

Adults can use the first three, and Google Opinion Rewards is for users over 18. On the survey side, people who are hard to find cost buyers more. One large survey exchange's pricing guide for buyers says a niche, hard-to-reach target "may require higher CPIs," a higher cost per interview. It also says a lower share of people who qualify "typically means higher costs."

We don't promise what any survey pays. Our page on why surveys disqualify you explains the screening, and our guide to free Robux scams shows what to avoid.

Questions people ask about Roblox player ages

How old are most Roblox players?

Most are under 18. Of users who had checked their age, 35% were under 13 and 38% were 13 to 17 in the week to 30 June 2026, going by Roblox's letter of 30 July 2026. Only 57% of daily users had checked.

What percentage of Roblox players are over 18?

27% of the users who had checked their age by June 2026, and about one in three in the US. Under-18s check more often than users overall, so by our math adults are closer to 30% of all daily users.

What is the average age of Roblox players?

Roblox's filings don't give one, only age groups. With 35% of checked users under 13 and 38% aged 13 to 17, the middle checked user is a teenager between 13 and 17.

Who plays Roblox more, girls or boys?

Roblox's filings don't say. They report age, not sex. Roblox shows game creators the gender of their own players, but none of the filings we read gives a split for Roblox as a whole.

Is the Roblox age check accurate?

It's tested, but not perfect. Roblox's vendor, Persona, was off by 1.4 years on average for under-18s in UK testing. Roblox also says some users get around its checks, and it asks for a new check when an account's behavior doesn't fit its age.

Sources

  • Roblox Corporation, Q2 2026 shareholder letter, SEC Form 8-K exhibit 99.1, 30 July 2026
  • Roblox Corporation, Q1 2026 shareholder letter, SEC Form 8-K exhibit 99.1, 30 April 2026
  • Roblox Corporation, Q4 2025 shareholder letter, SEC Form 8-K exhibit 99.1, 5 February 2026
  • Roblox Corporation, Q3 2025 shareholder letter, SEC Form 8-K exhibit 99.1, 30 October 2025
  • Roblox Corporation, shareholder letters for Q1 2024, Q2 2024, Q1 2025 and Q2 2025, SEC Form 8-K exhibit 99.2, 9 May 2024 to 31 July 2025
  • Roblox Corporation, earnings releases for Q4 2023, Q3 2024 and Q4 2024, SEC Form 8-K exhibit 99.1, 7 February 2024 to 6 February 2025
  • Roblox Corporation, Form 10-K for 2023, 2024 and 2025, filed 21 February 2024, 18 February 2025 and 11 February 2026
  • Roblox Corporation, Form 10-Q for the second quarter of 2026, 30 July 2026
  • Roblox Corporation, Supplemental Materials, Q2 2025 and Q3 2025, ir.roblox.com, 31 July 2025 and 30 October 2025
  • Roblox Newsroom, "Roblox Requires Age Checks for Communication, Ushering in New Safety Standard", 19 November 2025
  • Roblox Newsroom, "A New Era of Safety: Facial Age Checks Now Required to Chat on Roblox", 7 January 2026
  • Roblox Newsroom, "Moving Beyond Self-Reported Age", 5 February 2026
  • Roblox Newsroom, "Age-Based Roblox Kids and Roblox Select Accounts Now Globally Available", 16 June 2026
  • Roblox Newsroom, "Beyond the Selfie: How Roblox's Age-Assurance System Helps Keep Age Checks Current", 4 August 2026
  • Roblox Support, "Understanding Age Checks on Roblox" and "How does Roblox estimate my age?", read 26 September 2026
  • Roblox Support, "Free Robux or Subscription Generators", read 26 September 2026
  • Roblox Creator Hub, "Demographics" and "U.S. 18+ exchange rate", read 26 September 2026
  • Swagbucks Help Center, "Can Teenagers Use Swagbucks?", Prodege LLC, read 26 September 2026
  • Swagbucks rewards catalogue, Roblox $10 prize page, read 22 September 2026
  • Freecash Academy, age requirement article, Almedia GmbH, 12 May 2025
  • Freecash Academy, "Get Free Roblox Gift Cards", read 26 September 2026
  • PrizeRebel, Terms and Conditions, Internet Archive copy of 16 June 2026
  • Google, Opinion Rewards Help, "App availability and eligibility", read 26 September 2026
  • A survey exchange's documentation for buyers, "How feasibility works", version of 18 December 2025
  • PaysFair, privacy policy, updated 24 September 2026
  • Our own measurement: Roblox's daily users by age, quarter by quarter, rebuilt from the filings and decks above, 26 September 2026